A gentleman in the park

I do not think artists or curators of art should try to explain the art. The art should speak for itself in my mind and if it needs an explanation then the art has failed in its fundamental purpose of trying to communicate. Communication is, after all, the keystone of all creative processes.

Mostly “explanations” of what a work of art means are pompous, fatuous and pretentious. There is a lot of “ouses” in these explanations.  I do not criticise criticism or speculation about the art, but the attribution of meaning where the thing should speak for itself.

However, when walking in the park (Regent’s Park) I met a gentleman as you can see. I could do not more than give him a hug and wish him well on his way but he wasn’t going anywhere, last I looked. 

2 Responses

  1. everything moves…τα πάντα ρει…

  2. i have walking around and i found your
    blog from google, your blog verry informatics
    many thank to your post 07:48

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.