The Choir

At my primary school, in London’s East End, there was, of course a choir. In those days traditional English music was taught in a simple way. We had some outstanding singers – one boy would always sing the first verse of “Once in David’s Royal City” as a solo every Christmas. I was proud to sing in the choir, but less proud when a sharp eared teacher found I was singing flat, and I was told to mime the words, not sing them. There was shame in this, and I never plucked the courage to do what I wanted to do and sing when the school choir performed.

Leave a Reply

