I Tried to Write Something

I tried to write
I tried to write an article about taxation in the United Kingdom, but as I wrote more and more words I became so depressed that I deleted what I wrote, not because it was bad, or even because it made me feel bad, but because it described a hideous truth, which the longer you considered it the more hideous it became.

I then thought that I could compare and contrast the bedroom tax with the mansion tax; neither are taxes. The first is simply a lower subsidy from taxpayers money and the second a charge for living in a nice home, which you have probably bought and paid for out of income on which you have already been taxed.

The justification for all taxes is to enable governments to do good things; very few governments do good things and I thought that I could write about that, but as so few of the things that governments do are good, I decided that the writing would be too short.

I then decided perhaps I should write about Mrs Clooney’s statements in support of the return of the Parthenon Statues known as the Elgin Marbles from the British Museum. I cleared my thoughts, and read around the topic, but could not write anything useful about the topic; it seemed so obvious that the Elgin Marbles should be returned and answering the sophistry that those who wish to retain the Marbles pray in aid of their cause would be too hideous a task, so I wrote nothing.

I had by now tried to write about three topics, but could not do so. When seeking inspiration I looked out of the window, so I thought about writing about looking out of windows, but the views that I see now are mostly those made or shaped by humanity and writing about what humanity does can be both depressing and sad.

In the end I decided to write about nothing but my attempts to write about something, and here you have it.

2 Responses

  1. perhaps its time to stop writing !

    • Perhaps writing is now too old fashioned.

Leave a Reply

