Does It Yet Wave?

I picked up my guitar. It is something that I do less frequently these days. I set up my book of music with simple chords and many songs, some of which I can play. Turning the pages I came across “the Star Spangled Banner” and strummed it singing along with my poor singing voice until I reached the end of the first verse. Then I realised the true meaning of the song. The last two lines ask a question and do not make a statement.

“Oh say, does that star spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?”

Today, the question is answered in the negative. The banner waves over a land where freedom is oppressed, and people locked up in Guantanamo without trial, and wars are fought like cowards, and the nation shivers with fear at the damage that a handful of criminals with bombs and planes can foist upon a scared nation.

Where the star spangled banner waves it does not signify freedom and bravery, but where oppression and cowardice reign.

 

One Response

  1. I think it was Charles Manson who said you need to keep fear very very close. That way, nothing scares you.

Leave a Reply

