Christos Anesti – A Greek Easter More Than 50 Years Ago

Χριστός ἀνέστη!

Ἀληθῶς ἀνέστη!

The traditional Greek Easter Greeting brings memories of going to St Sophia in Moscow Road Bayswater, more than fifty years ago.

I went without eating, as I was told that I had to do this for Easter. I sat (in those days) in the half of the Church reserved for men while my sisters sat in the other half of the church reserved for women. I held a candle which had a small white paper disk at its bottom to prevent hot wax from dripping on my hand. I could play with it while the service was being held; I did not understand the Greek service and the candle and the smell of incense were welcome distractions.

At the end of the service the congregation waited for the priests, who first rushed to the exit doors with bags of bread and boxes of hard boiled eggs, coloured red and blue. As we left the priests gave everyone a hunk of bread and an egg, which I ate hungrily before i reached Bayswater.

Then I reached Queensway and was taken to eat Rum Baba in a cafe; the bread and egg were not enough but the cake was and we went home satiated as far as our food was concerned but not perhaps as far as our religious experience was concerned.

One Response

  1. We have come a long way from the truth of what Christos actually meant for the Greeks.

    The perfect one or Telios, or Helios would really be upset if he could actually talk.

    Father of all in every age
    In every climb adored
    By saint by savage or by sage
    I oa Bull or lord.

    O = Omega
    A = Alpha.

Leave a Reply

