Memories: through the glass clearly

My father discovered that I needed eyeglasses when i was in primary school. he took me to the Greek Church in Moscow Road and asked which Greek letters were the same as English letters. I ask “what letters”. 

The optician prescribed quite thick glasses. I remember nothing of the eye test at his premises in the East India Dock Road but i do remember my mother collected the glasses when they were ready and I put them on one lunchtime at home.

Our home was in Market Square in Poplar and was a maisonette built by Festival of Briton builders opposite a bomb site of an old pub. The windows and doors of the pub were destroyed and the council had not yet got round to demolishing the walls.

I put on my glasses and looked through the kitchen window at the bombed pub. For the first time I could see the bricks and mortar patterns in the walls from a distance of ten yards. It was magic, seeing through the glass, so clearly.

Leave a Reply

